ServiziMenu principaleHome
You are here: Home > Task Forces > Innovation in cancer

ESO Task Force on Innovation in cancer

It is clear that some radical thinking is required to address access challenges in Europe to ensure that as many patients as possible receive optimal cancer care. This task force examines the issue in greater depth.

Progress to Date

  • An initial meeting to discuss the initiative was held in Milan on March 30, 2012
  • A small brainstorming meeting was held in Zurich in February 2013
  • A multi-stakeholder task force consisting of 26 participants has been confirmed
  • First meeting of the entire group was held on October 11/12 in Milan
  • Article published in Cancer World (Issue 58)
  • ESO Workshop: “Access to treatment, definition of innovation and obsolescence in cancer treatments” will be held in October 2016 in Luxembourg

Future Plans

The outcome of the Task Force will be developed further within ECCO with an ECCO position paper published in 2017.

The Task Force

The Task Force is chaired by Matti Aapro (CH) and Kathy Redmond (CH).
Members of the task force are:
Joerg Adamczewski (FR), Nicolai Bodemer (DE), Uday Bose (GB), Johannes Bruns (DE), Agnes Buzyn (FR), Paul Cornes, (GB), Alberto Costa (CH and IT), Pere Gascon (ES), Cai Grau (DK), Birgitte Grube (DK), Bengt Joensson (SE), Finn Borlum Kristensen (DK), Yolande Lievens (BE), Peter Naredi (SE), Kathy Oliver (GB), Roberta Rondena (IT), Pierfrancesco Ruffo (CH), Daniel Schneider (CH), Richard Sullivan (GB), Thomas Szucs (CH), Olli Tenhunen (FI), Giampaolo Tortora (IT).

For further information, please contact:
Alexandra Zampetti

This task force was initiated by Eisai, a sustaining member of the Sharing Progress in Cancer Care (SPCC) programme. SPCC is a pioneering partnership between the European School of Oncology (ESO) and some of the world’s leading pharmaceutical companies.

Follow us